2020 YSEA Officers and Board Members Installed; Distinguished Faculty, Students, and Alumni Recognized

NEW HAVEN—The Yale Science & Engineering Association, Inc. is pleased to announce the results of its most recent general election, featuring four new officers and board members and new roles for three previous officers and board members. Further, YSEA is pleased to recognize members of the Yale community, including students, alumni, and faculty for their achievements in STEM fields.

(Top row, L-R: Gail Kalison Reynolds, Waleed Nasir, Ingrid Russell.
Bottom row, L-R: Staci Leisman, Laurel Reitman, James Lockman.)

Gail Kalison Reynolds (B.S. 1978, Biology and M.F.S. 1981, Forestry & Environmental Studies), formerly a Board Member-at-Large, has been elected as Secretary of YSEA, an officer of the corporation. She is responsible for recording the Minutes of the organization, managing communications, and overseeing YSEA records, including membership rolls. Newly elected District Vice Presidents include Waleed Nasir (M.B.A. 2015, Metropolitan District) and Ingrid Russell (M.Phil. 1985, Mathematics, New England District), and new Board Members-at-Large include Staci Leisman, M.D. (B.S. 1999) and Laurel Reitman (B.S. 1999, Electrical Engineering). In addition to Gail Kalison Reynolds assuming a new role, members moving into new roles as Board Members-at-Large include Anita Kishore (B.S. 1999, Chemistry) and James Lockman (B.S. 1989, Physics & Applied Physics). A full list of officers, board members, and their terms in office is available at the YSEA website.

Next, YSEA takes great pride in highlighting outstanding alumni and faculty for providing meritorious service to Yale, for performing distinguished service to industry, commerce, or education, and for their remarkable achievements in advancing basic and applied science. The honor roll of past award winners includes astronauts, entrepreneurs, Nobel laureates, government leaders, philanthropists, physicians, university presidents, industrialists, and, of course, some of the world’s greatest scientists and engineers. YSEA also recognizes faculty upon attaining emeritus status and highlights outstanding academic performance by undergraduate students.

(L-R: Eileen K. Pollack, Gary A. Chanan, Elie K. Track, and Joseph A. Cerro)

Eileen K. Pollack, M.F.A. (B.S. 1978, Physics) received the YSEA Award for Distinguished Service to Industry, Commerce, or Education in recognition of advancing our understanding of diversity, equity, and inclusion in STEM, using creative nonfiction to capture the loneliness, humility, and humanity in being an exceptional scientist.

The Yale Science & Engineering Association Award for Advancement of Basic and Applied Science is presented to Gary A. Chanan, Ph.D. (B.S. 1970, Physics and Mathematics) in recognition of his pioneering contributions to the field of optical astronomy. His contributions have enabled countless insights by a generation of astronomers and will continue to have a profound impact on the field for many years to come.

Elie K. Track (Ph.D. 1988, Physics) and Joseph A. Cerro (B.S. 1989, Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry) both received the YSEA Award for Meritorious Service to Yale in recognition of their service as advocates and exemplars for STEM at Yale, for their acts of volunteerism and community outreach within and beyond Yale, and for providing mentoring and leadership within their respective fields.

Anita I. Kishore

The executive board honored Anita I. Kishore, Ph.D. (B.S. 1999, Chemistry) as the 2019–2020 District Vice President of the Year. Dr. Kishore was Metropolitan District Vice President from 2018 to 2020 and currently serves as a delegate to the Yale Alumni Association Assembly. She has increased YSEA's profile through through social media and online activities, such as YSEA’s first Digital Career Panel for students and alumni, and she has attracted prominent alumni to participate in YSEA activities.

YSEA also presented awards for Outstanding Academic Achievement to the top STEM students in the classes of 2020 and 2021. Awardees from the Class of 2021 include Amer Al-Hiyasat, Lincoln Berkley, Justin Cheong, Athena Flint, Claire Lamarre, Kendra Libby, Melissa Lu, Sally Ma, and Anna Sun. Recipients of the Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement, Senior Class of 2020 include Brennan Carman, Jasper Feinberg, Randall Kras, Yifei Shen, and Benjamin Waldman.

Finally, YSEA congratulates the following faculty members upon attaining emeritus status: Thomas H. Brown, Ph.D. (M.A.H. 1988, Professor Emeritus of Psychology), John Dovidio, Ph.D. (M.A.H. 2006, Carl I. Hovland Professor Emeritus of Psychology), Marianne LaFrance, Ph.D. (M.A.H. 1998, Professor Emeritus of Psychology and of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies), and Ronald B. Smith, Ph.D. (M.A.H. 1986, Damon Wells Professor of Geology and Geophysics).

The Yale Science & Engineering Association, Inc.

Powered by GroupSpaces · Terms · Privacy Policy · Cookie Use · Create Your Own Group