Distinguished Faculty, Students, and Alumni Presented with 2019 YSEA Awards; New YSEA Officers and Board Members Installed

NEW HAVEN—The Yale Science & Engineering Association recognized members of the Yale community for their achievements in STEM fields at the 105th YSEA Annual Dinner at the Graduate Club in New Haven on April 12, 2019. YSEA traditionally has highlighted outstanding alumni and faculty for providing meritorious service to Yale, for performing distinguished service to industry, commerce, or education, and for their remarkable achievements in advancing basic and applied science. The honor roll of past award winners includes astronauts, entrepreneurs, Nobel laureates, government leaders, philanthropists, physicians, university presidents, industrialists, and, of course, some of the world’s greatest scientists and engineers.

Michael Gold ’60, M.Eng. ’62, received the YSEA Award for Distinguished Service to Industry, Commerce or Education in recognition of his commitment to the safety and standardization of multiple materials and components in the high pressure steam and boiler industry, for his leadership in that industry, and for the lasting impact he has made on his peers.

The Yale Science & Engineering Association Award for Advancement of Basic and Applied Science was presented to Daniel E. Prober, Ph.D. (M.A.H. 1986) in recognition of Dr. Prober's pioneering contributions to the fields of nanosystems and superconductivity, providing foundational insights and technologies that have been applied to areas ranging from quantum systems to astronomy.

Brian M. Scassellati, Ph.D. (M.A.H. 2013) received the YSEA Award for Meritorious Service to Yale in recognition of his service as an advocate and exemplar for STEM at Yale, for his acts of community outreach within and beyond Yale, for his innovative teaching of computer science, and for his leadership in the fields of social and assistive robotics.

In addition, YSEA honored Jeffrey S. Katz ’89 GRD as its 2018–2019 District Vice President of the Year. Mr. Katz has served as the YSEA Vice President for its Connecticut District since 2015. Since then, he has forged partnerships between YSEA and other alumni groups, and local professional associations while increasing YSEA's profile through a series of well-attended public events and student activities.

YSEA also presented awards for Outstanding Academic Achievement to the top STEM students in the classes of 2019 and 2020. Awardees include Christoph Funke ’19, Claudia Mezey ’19, Lilly Scheibe ’19, Christina Stankey ’19, Brennan Carman ’20, Jasper Feinberg ’20, Randall Kras ’20, Mahima Kumara ’20, and Benjamin Waldman ’20.

Capping off the evening, Gail Kalison Reynolds ’81 MFS announced the results of YSEA's 2019-2020 general election for officers and board members, including the election of Elissa Dunn Levy ’09 as the new President of YSEA. Also elected/re-elected were Milton J. Young M.S. ’84 (Executive Vice President), Joseph A. Cerro ’89 (Treasurer), and Board Members-At-Large Robert Cordova ’84, Sarah Huelin ’97, Andrew Reardon ’21, Gail Reynolds, and John Siemon M.S. ’90. Upon assuming office, Ms. Levy presented Mr. Siemon with a ceremonial gavel in recognition of his service as YSEA President from 2016-2019.

(Link: Photos from the April 12, 2019 YSEA Annual Dinner.)

The Yale Science & Engineering Association, Inc.

Powered by GroupSpaces · Terms · Privacy Policy · Cookie Use · Create Your Own Group