2015 Hochstetter Lecture: Zealandia – Earth’s 8th continent, national tour July – September

Wednesday, 19th August 2015 at 4pm - 7:30pm

Location: TBA

This event is in the past.

8. 2015 Hochstetter Lecture: Zealandia – Earth’s 8th continent, national tour July – September

The Hochstetter Lecturer (named in honour of Ferdinand von Hochstetter) is chosen annually by the Geoscience Society of New Zealand. The 2015 Hochstetter Lecturer is Nick Mortimer from GNS, Otago. Nick will be touring the country during the year. Nick Mortimer is a geologist at the Dunedin office of the Crown Research Institute GNS Science. In his 26-year-career he has carried out land- and ship-based field work throughout the length and breadth of New Zealand and Zealandia. He recently co-authored a Penguin book on Zealandia with his colleague Hamish Campbell.

Abstract: Continents are the largest solid objects on the Earth’s surface. In this illustrated talk Nick will summarise the scientific case that there are not seven but eight continents: Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, South America and Zealandia. Although Zealandia is 4.9 million square kilometres in area, it has literally lain hidden because 94% of it is under the sea. In the talk Nick will also speak about how Zealandia became the world’s most submerged continent and why its continental identity is important to science and to society.

  • Canterbury | Tuesday, 14 July
  • Nelson | Wednesday, 15 July
  • Otago | Thursday, 6 August
  • Waikato | Monday, 10 August
  • Auckland | Tuesday, 11 August
  • Wellington | Wednesday, 19 August
  • Taranaki | Monday, 14 September
  • Manawatu | Tuesday, 15 September
  • Taupo | Wednesday, 14 October
  • Napier | Thursday, 15 October

At university centres the Hochstetter and a supplementary lecture Litho2014: a New Zealand stratigraphy for everyone are given. 

View Geoscience Society of New Zealand website for more information.

Share on Facebook | Share on Twitter

Comments

Who's coming? See all

No responses yet.

Export to your calendar


Phoenix Astronomical Society

Powered by GroupSpaces · Terms · Privacy Policy · Cookie Use · Create Your Own Group