Our History

A Brief History of Norwest Flyball Club

Updated February 2018 by Brian Lindsay

The Norwest Thunderdogs were founded on 8th October 2004 as the flyball arm within the Norwest Canine Association Inc. The Clubs grounds are at Castle Hills Showground and the complex is one of the best dog facilities in Australia, with outdoor arenas, an indoor arena, club rooms and meeting rooms.

The founding membership of the Thunderdogs was made up of 23 flyballers (see Note1 below for Founders names) who left their prior club to form a new club at Castle Hill. The main motivation for the new Club was dissatisfaction with the way competition teams were being selected together with a desire to develop a more supportive culture for members. Most of the founding members are still part of Norwest Thunderdogs.The Clubs first competition was at the ACT Flyball Frolic in December 2004. The Club sent three teams to that competition, displaying for the first time the gold and black Thunderdogs uniform.

In the 13 years since its formation the Club has won 14 National Championship Titles - 9 First Division Championships, 1 Third Division Championship, two 4th Division Championships and 1 Ninth Division Championship (See listing of Championship results at foot of page). The Club has been the National Division one Champion Team in 9 of the last 10 years.

In addition to the 18 Nationals Titles the Club has broken the Australian Flyball Record 7 times and is the current holder of the Australian record at 16.413. The current record was set at the Morisset Competition in Feb 2018 by a team comprising Ivy, Maggie, Bullet and Link jumping at 11 inches.

The Club also holds a Guinness World Record for the fastest flyball run – set on 23 April 2005 at Narrabundah Canberra as part of the Australian Guinness World Record T.V. series. The Guinness record was set at 18.16 seconds. The Club holds an Official Guinness World Record Certificate indicating this achievement.

In 2009 Club members made up two of the four teams selected to take part in the Purina World Dog Games which was televised on Channel 7. The winning team, “6 Pak” consisted of Milo, Peebles, Dallas, Buddy, Arrow plus Cooper who returned from Queensland for the event. The second Norwest team “Greased Lightning” consisted of Bundy, Harry, Cleo, Twiggy, Pjevs and Jackson, came third.

In 2008 Norwest was the first flyball club in Australia to have two teams seeded in First Division at the National Championships. The teams came first and third – a great result.

The Norwest Thunderdogs have won the Australian Flyball Club of the Year Award on Seven occasions as recognition of the Clubs contribution to the sport of flyball in Australia.

The Club takes in a limited number of dogs into its Beginners Program on the first Tuesday of each Month excluding December and January. After a short beginners program the new dogs are introduced to the Clubs modular training program. Training a flyball dog to the stage of racing can take anywhere from 6 to 12 months ( or longer) depending on the focus of the dog and the amount of effort put in by the handler at Club training and at home.

The Club trains on Tuesday nights at Castle Hill Dog Complex with beginners and novice dog training starting at 7 pm till 8 pm and then racing dogs training from 8 pm till 9.30 pm.


Note 1 – The 23 Founding Members of Norwest Flyball – Brian, Sheryl and Kim Lindsay, Pat Byrne, Gail Starr, Joanne Parkes, Lydia and Christian Markham, Helen Borchert, Fiona and Kevin Bulman, Garry Hehir, Leoney and Glenn Pritchard, Amanda Pennicuik, Anne Younger and Kylie Younger, Elizabeth Coombes, Joy Williams, Vanessa Brooks, Kerry, Philip and Ruth Andrew.

Year National Championship Wins
2005 1st Division Champions
2006 1st Division Champions
2007 1st Division Champions, 4th Division Champions
2008 1st Division Champions
2009 1st Division Champions
2010 1st Division Champions





1st Division Champions, 4th Division Champions

1st Division Champions

3rd Division Champions, 9th Division Champions

1st Division Champions3rd Division Champions, 7th Division Champions

1st Division Champions

2nd Division Champions, 4th Division Champions

Norwest Flyball

Powered by GroupSpaces · Terms · Privacy Policy · Cookie Use · Create Your Own Group